let the great world spin.

books, english

illustration by Andre Da Loba

ENG. I havn’t post anything about books, and I feel quite bad about it, but my justification is that it’s kind of difficult to write something acceptable when there’s so many good reviews around.

Anyway, I just finished Let the great world spin by Colum McCann and I must say I was quite impressed. What I specially liked is the amazing Philip Petit‘s walk on a wire between the twin towers in 1974, which is actually the central part of the story. I specially like the fact that most part of the stories in the book are really tragic, but everything gets connected with the walk of Petit. Then ,for a second, everything seems to be nice and harmonic. So, let the great world spin!

You can see this video about the walk and also read a good review of the book here if you feel like knowing more about it.

One thought on “let the great world spin.

Leave a Reply

