Book sculptures by Su Blackwell

art, crafts, design

I am a big fan of books and anything related to paper. I’ve tried many times to like kindles, ipads and anything digital to read but I can’t, I always feel that there’s something missing, like the texture of the paper.

I guess that something similar happens to English artist Su Blackwell. Well, either that or she is magnificenly creative. Blackwell is a paper artist, and she has  “illustrated” several books using

. As she explains herself in her portfolio:

”For the cut-out illustrations, I tend to lean towards young-girl characters, placing them in haunting, fragile settings, expressing the vulnerability of childhood, while also conveying a sense of childhood anxiety and wonder. There is a quiet melancholy in the work, depicted in the material used, and choice of subtle colour.”

In my case, I say hurray to projects like this one, and long life to paper!

Wildflowers

See all the book sculptures

2 thoughts on “Book sculptures by Su Blackwell

Leave a Reply

